silencing judgment

Monastics require silence whenever they see another commit a fault and are tempted to reprimand him or her. Because judging another makes me blind to my own faults, I should remain silent. In remaining silent, I can the better discover my own faults in the failing of another… Even when you think you know the fault of a person precisely and can grasp it with your hands, do not judge. One does not do justice to the other person, but all too easily is deceived; one is fooled by projecting one’s own faults into others. If we keep silence, we escape the danger of being deceived by our projections.

For monastics, silence is essentially aimed at foregoing passing judgment on others. This applies not only to the spoken word, but equally to their interior dialogue.

“He also said, ‘A man may seem to be silent, but if his heart is condemning others he is babbling ceaselessly. But there may be another who talks from morning till night and yet he is truly silent; that is, he says nothing that is not profitable.’ ” (Apophthegmata Patrum)

We are constantly occupied with comparing ourselves to others. In order that we may fare well in this comparison, we downgrade the other. We detect false motives in his actions, self-seeking designs. Thus without realising it we are constantly passing judgment on the people we meet. Our judging intellect speaks constantly within us. If we would refrain from classifying others, judging or even condemning them, we would find interior peace.

“Whenever his thoughts urged him, (Agathon) to pass judgment on something which he saw, he would say to himself, ‘Agathon, it is not your business to do that.’ Thus his spirit was always recollected.” (Apophthegmata Patrum)

Passing judgment on others not only disquiets us, but also binds us to our own faults. Silence with a view to others give us a clearer self-knowledge; it allows us to look through the mechanism of projection through which we shift or own faults into others and therefore become incapable of seeing them in ourselves…

In projecting guilt, our eyes are directed only to the faults of others; our own are behind us and thus invisible to us. In silence we hold our own sins before our eyes and turn to our own situation:

“Abba Paphnutius said, ‘When I was walking along the road, I happened to lose my way and found myself near a village and I saw some people who were talking about evil things. So I stood still, praying for my sins. Then behold an angel came, holding a sword and said to me, “Paphnutius, all those who judge their brothers perish by his sword, but because you have not judged but have humbled yourself before God, saying that you have sinned, your name is written in the book of the living!” ’ ” (Apophthegmata Patrum)

The sins of others are an incentive for us to think about our own. In refraining from passing judgment and remaining silent I become capable of seeing myself in my own sinfulness.

A patriarch gives this advice:

“When you see someone committing sin, pray to the Lord and say, ‘Forgive me, for I have sinned.’ ”

In silence I look not at others but at myself and confront myself with the things I discover within me. Because I do not know the reasons why another acts as he or she does I forbid myself any kind of judgment, and instead, let his or her conduct interpret my own. The fault of the other becomes a mirror in which I see my own in a clearer way… Silence here becomes an expression of love, in which I accept the other, because in silence I have encountered my own weakness.

anselm grun, the challenge of silence

Leave a Reply

caribbeanlitlime

Talking Caribbean Literature & Society

dan holloway

It is better to try to be extraordinary and fail than to try to be ordinary and succeed.

SARICA

just another travel journal.

ellisnelson

children's author

Awapara Art

A Place to share My Love for Painting, Life and my Wandering Mind

Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Infinite Windows

Meditations on faith and art

feralc4t

Just Stuff

Ulrika Forsberg photography

A portfolio of unique photos and art by Ulrika Forsberg.

ninartz

Art & Poetry... Deep in the Heart.. All Content is subject to the copyright of Nina Fabunmi

Сельский туризм в России

"Сельский туризм в России" — авторский проект Алексея Марковича.

Priya's Art Portfolio

A journey through visual arts...

Erika Takacs Sculpture

Paper pulp figurative sculptures and assemblages

Scultore's Blog

Sculpture, Art and Other Important Subjects

Cardboard Towns | Città Di Cartone

Paintings, doodles, videos & other elegant devices to cover up wall fissures by Marco Bigliazzi

artistalexander

Stuff about Alexander Rosado - Artist and Consciousness Geek in Paradise

takethelineforawalk

art, sketch, portrait, lifedrawing, landscape, seascape, water color

pure ART and SOUL

Imaginative and atmospheric art inspired by music...

Paintings by Aline

A Painter's Progress

The Future Is Papier Mâché

- Pictures of a City -

kinneretstern

Realms of art

The Genealogy of Style

All the epigones find their own way

Angelika Ejtel

POETRY IN IMAGES│Ⓒ RapidHeartMovement All rights reserved

Askin ples

sa umetnošću

Ingaga Art

Painter & Surface illustrator www.ingaga.com

Miranda Rose

Art & Tattoos

On the Draw

Art in Brydges

Lights Within the Darkness

Ideas Amid the Mundane

Studie i Petersborg

En blog om hverdagen på et russisk kunstakademi

